skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content

Birth Certificates

Florida Department of Health in Pasco County

Florida law restricts the issuance of birth certificates to those eligible applicants who provide VALID photo identification. Acceptable forms of identification are Driver's License, State ID Card, Passport or Military ID Card. Expired forms of identification will not be accepted.

Florida birth certificates are not public record. They only become public record 100 years following the birth.

Birth certificates can only be issued to:

  • the registrant (child named on the record) if of legal age (18)
  • a parent
  • a guardian
  • a legal representative of one of these persons
  • or by court order.

In the case of a deceased registrant, upon receipt of the death certificate of the decedent, the birth certification can be issued to the spouse, child, grandchild, sibling, if of legal age, or a legal representative of any of these persons, as well as to the parent.

For a Florida Birth Certificate Application in English (719 KB)

Please Note: The birth certificate for a newborn is not automatically mailed to the parent after birth. The parent may apply for the birth certificate through a Vital Statistics office and pay the proper fee.

Birth certificates for people born in Pasco County can now be ordered online from DOH-Pasco at VitalChek

If the registrant was not born in Florida, please go to the following link to order certificates from other states:

http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/w2w/w2welcom.htm

Payment Methods:

  1. The fee for one certified copy of a Florida birth record is $12.00 and $8.00 for each addition copy of the same record when ordered at the same time.
  2. Walk-in Requests, fees are payable by cash, money order, cashier's check, Visa or MasterCard.
  3. Mail-in Requests, fees are payable by money order, cashier's check, Visa or MasterCard. (Please do not send cash by mail). Money orders/cashier's checks should be made payable to DOH-Pasco.

Orders will be returned unprocessed if the requests are incomplete.

We have 2 locations to serve your Vital Statistics needs.

13941 15th St. Rm #212
Dade City, FL  33525
352-521-1450 Option 6

Open Monday - Friday
8:00am - 4:30pm
Closed 1:00pm - 2:00pm for lunch

10841 Little Rd.
New Port Richey, FL 34654
727-861-5250 Option 6

Open Monday - Friday
8:00am - 4:30pm