

Florida Department of Health in Pasco County Dietetic Internship

Program Expenses and Fees

The program fee for the Florida Department of Health (FDOH) in Pasco County Dietetic Internship is \$250. WIC Track interns are required to sign a work service obligation agreement of 3,120 hours (FDOH employees who are sponsored into the internship) or 5,200 hours (interns who are not employees of the FDOH and were accepted into the internship via the Dietetic Internship Match).

Participation in the internship may allow college loans to be deferred. FDOH is not an eligible educational institution and does not offer financial aid, may not issue the Form 1098-T, and may not issue the F-1 or I-20 student visas. However, interns are encouraged to apply for scholarships, grants, or student loans to reduce the financial burden of participation in the program. Seeking financial aid is the responsibility of the intern.

Dietetic interns do not receive stipends. Sponsored interns that are employees of FDOH will receive their full-time salary and fringe benefits from their sponsoring agency for five (5) weeks during the internship while they are in WIC specific rotations.

All travel expenses including but not limited to didactic weeks, public policy week, and supervised practice rotations are the intern's responsibility.

The following costs to the intern are estimates and subject to change. The cost to the intern will vary according to their needs and lifestyle. The costs below are estimations from the best information we could find.

Application Fee	\$50
Program Fee (WIC Track)	\$250
Medical Insurance ¹	\$450-5265 ¹
Student Liability Insurance ²	\$25 ²
Health Physical/Examination and vaccinations ³	\$199-1000 ³
CPR/AED Certification ⁴	\$90 4
Background Check and Initial Drug Screen ⁵	\$125 5
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Student Membership	\$60



	I
Transportation throughout the internship ^A	\$5006 ^A
Lodging and meals for overnight travel including didactic weeks in Pasco County, and the supervised practice rotation at University of Florida (UF expenses are for Duval and Pasco Region only) ^B	\$3424 ^B
FAND Legislative Workshop/Training Registration Fees	\$50
Meals and parking at rotation facilities (if required by site) ^c	\$2960 ^c
Books and supplies	\$240
RD Exam Study Materials (average cost of top three)	\$439
Lab coat	\$50
Graduation contribution (collected in first didactic week)	\$30
Additional screenings (background and drug)	\$250

University of North Florida (UNF) Graduate Program Cost Per Credit Hour **	\$493.53 **
UNF Initial Fees: Application, Orientation, Welcome	\$75
Registration Examination for Dietitians cost	\$200
Registration and Licensure fees	\$235

- 1 Health Insurance cost is for nine months of coverage ranging from state employee single contribution (\$50/month) to average cost of premiums in Florida (\$585/month).
- 2 Based on quick quote from Proliability by Mercer with Academy discount for 10 months
- 3 \$1000 based on cost of getting your physical and immunizations at CVS Minute Clinic. Titers are less. Already having proof of all immunizations is considerably less.
- 4 Costs vary between AHA and the American Red Cross. Selected cost included in table was on the high side.
- 5 Cost of Basic Student Package with Drug Test fees Included through Advantage Students (including Florida fees and taxes).

- A Transportation costs based on 1250 miles a month (15K a year) for nine months at the FDOH mileage reimbursement rate of \$0.445/mile
- B Overnight costs based on 16 nights in a hotel at \$175 a night (FDOH allowance) and 16 days of meals at \$39 a day (FDOH allowance)
- C Meals and parking cost based on 185 rotation days (37 weeks) at \$11 a day for lunch (FDOH allowance) and \$5 a day for parking (estimated average since not all places will charge to park)
- ** UNF cost is for in-state tuition. Out of state students do have the option to apply for a discounted rate that is close to the in-state tuition. Dr. Lauri Wright, our contact at UNF can assist out of statue students with applying for that rate. Sponsored interns (not OPS) can qualify for the State Tuition Waiver which will cover up to six credit hours a semester. Interns should speak to their sponsoring agency on how to apply for state tuition waiver as it is not automatic.